Deleting a Person

People can be deleted individually or in bulk.

Delete an Individual

  1. Navigate to a specific person.
  2. On the left, select "Delete" from the menu (after clicking "More" to expose the additional options).
  3. Click "Delete Permanently." (Want to archive someone instead of deleting them? Click here.)

 

2019-12-18_09-49-04__1_.gif

Delete Multiple People

By Criteria

  1. Bring up a list of people using the advanced search.
  2. On the right, click "Delete People" from the menu (after clicking "More Actions" to expose the additional options).
  3. Click "Delete Permanently." (Want to archive someone instead of deleting them? Click here.)

By Recently Added

  1. Navigate to "More > Account Settings (mceclip3.png) > Bulk Tasks
  2. Choose "More" on the lefthand side
  3. Select "Delete Data"
  4. Under "I want to delete..." select "People" and under "That Match..." select the appropriate time period
  5. Click the red button to confirm the deletion of the people that match the criteria you set

2019-12-18_10-01-43__2_.gif

If a person has giving records, deleting the person will not remove the giving history but will mark those gifts as coming from "Anonymous."
You can restore an unintentional deletion up to 30 days from the action.  See Recovering Deleted Data for more information. 

 

Was this article helpful?
13 out of 25 found this helpful

Comments

8 comments
  • I may have accidentally deleted a couple from Breeze.  How can I restore them?

    0
  • Hi @office!

    Happy to help! Here is a great resource that will walk you through restoring that deleted data: Recovering Deleted Data

    Happy Breezing! 

    0
  • As an admin, can I restore data that another user has deleted?

    0
  • Hi @katie!

    Yes, you definitely can restore deleted data. Here is a resource that will walk you through those steps:

    Recovering Deleted Data

     

    Blessings!

    0
  • Does deleting a person also delete all of their attendance history in their respective events?

    0
  • @echow

    Great question! Yes, it does. When a person is deleted, so is everything attached to them. If you're wanting to remove someone from the database who has historical information attached to them, the suggestion would be to ARCHIVE them instead. 

    If you have deleted someone accidentally, you should be able to restore this function (or UNDO) by accessing the Restore section in Account Settings. More > Account Settings > more (beneath Log) > Restore

    I pray this is helpful for you!

    0
  • Thank you for the quick reply! Understood now. Unfortunately, the person I'd like to restore was deleted more than 30 days ago. Is there any way for them to be restored?

    0
  • Hey @echow,

    Unfortunately, there isn't anything more we can do at this point. I'm so sorry that you've lost this profile data. I recognize that this is certainly less than ideal. Please reach out to our support team if there is anything else we can do for you!

    0