FAQs on Roles

Allow Access To or Restrict Access From 

Many times when setting up Users & Roles the question is asked "Do I need to select both allow access to and restrict access from in the role permissions?" So glad you asked about this! 

When creating or editing a role, you do not need to select both the allow access to and restrict access from options. You should select one or the other based on how you would like the role to handle new additional items added to that section. 

To access Roles, you will need to,  

  1. Go to Account Settings (mceclip3.png) > Users & Roles
  2. Click "Roles" on the left side, and click to edit (pencil icon) the role you'd like to modify.
Allow Access To Restrict Access From Conflicting Permissions

Image_2021-04-30_at_12.40.32_PM.jpg

  • If you choose to allow access it means that the role will only be able to see the specific tags, calendars, forms, etc. that you select.
  • When you add new tags, calendars, forms., to the database a role with allow access permissions you would need to update the role in order for it to have permission to view the new options. 

Only Access Certain People Scenarios

There may be times where you wish to hide certain people from a user or, for example, you want a user to only be able to access a certain small group, or not see others. 

(If you're looking to hide a person from everyone's view, such as when someone passes away or is no longer active at your church, see Archive People instead.)

Breeze allows you to control which people a user or users can see by setting the appropriate permissions for their role. You can set this up using the following:

  1. Go to Account Settings (mceclip3.png) > Users & Roles
  2. Click "Roles" on the left side, and click to edit (pencil icon) the role you'd like to modify.
  3. Within the permissions, navigate to "People > Only Access Certain People."
  4. Select the Tags you'd like to be included and/or excluded. Only people within or outside of these Tags will be visible to users with this role.

If you select Only Access Certain People > People Not in Tags > select a specific tag(s) anyone that is in that tag(s) will be restricted from the role you are creating, even if the person appears in other tags that Role has access to.

Let's imagine that Fred Flintstone is in the .Visitor2019 tag and in a Mens Ministry tag. In the example below, if I restrict the .Visitors2019 tag (through the People Not In Tags) this role would not be able to see Fred Flintstone, even though he is in the Mens Ministry tag too. 

Image_2021-04-30_at_12.50.33_PM.jpg

 

Understanding View and Edit People Permissions

If a role that has access to view or edit certain profile fields (Permission People > View or People > Edit) in the database, when you Add New Profile Fields to the database, this role will have access to the new profile field by default. You would need to update the role and uncheck the new fields, if you do not want a role to have access to it. 

In the example below, originally this role had access to People > View > Name and Status (Profile fields). You will see by default when I added a new profile field (This is a new profile field.) this role is given permission to this profile field because it has access to view other profile fields. 

If you add a profile field and do not want certain roles to access that profile field, you would need to Edit the Role and unselect the field to remove this permission. 
Image_2021-04-30_at_1.08.51_PM.jpg

Allowing a Role to View events on the calendar

You have rolled Breeze out to your members and realize it would be great to allow members to view your church calendars (or a specific calendar in Breeze) when accessing Breeze.

  1. Go to Account Settings (mceclip3.png) > Users & Roles
  2. Click "Roles" on the left side, and click to edit (pencil icon) the role you'd like to modify.
  3. Within the permissions, navigate to "Events > View Events"
  4. Limit what calendars they can see events on by clicking "Only Access Certain Calendars" > "Allow Access To" or "Restrict Access From". 

mceclip0.png

With the permission of View Events, the user would only be able to see the event on the calendar, view the time of the event, the description, and the location when they click on an event. 

Here is what the Event looks like when clicked on by a user with only access to view events:

mceclip2.png

You can change the information that appears for your event by Editing Event Settings.

 

Behavior of Access to My Family Members Permission

While members often have limited access to the people they can view (such as access to Adult Regular Attenders & Members), it’s often desirable for adults in the family to be able to see /edit their children's information — even if they aren’t in the specified People permission tag that they have access to. Using Access to my Family Members under My Profile makes this possible.

The permission is found/given by taking the following steps:

  1. Go to Account Settings (mceclip3.png)> Users & Roles
  2. Click Roles on the left
  3. Edit the role of choice
  4. Under the "My Profile" dropdown, check the box for "Access to My Family Members"
  5. Click Update Role when finished. 

If a Role has "Access to my Family Members" selected, it will also give this User the same editing options on their family as they have on their own profile. 

If a family member has been archived, they are no longer visible to their family. 

mceclip0.png

Preview a Role

As an Admin of your Breeze account, when you create a new role you may want to see what the user experience will be for a user with these new role permissions. There are two options to test out or preview this new role: 

  1. Create a new user account for yourself and assign the new "User" the "Role" you have just created. You would need to then Log Out of your Admin account in Breeze, and log back in with these new credentials.
    • Make sure you know your User Name and Password for your Admin account to ensure you can get back in.
  2. Give the new "Role" you created temporary access to "Users and Roles" under the permission, and then simply assign yourself this new Role.
    • Once you are done exploring what this Role looks like Navigate to the "Account Settings"(Image_2020-05-07_at_1.31.50_PM.png) on the top right > Select Users and Roles > and assign your user to the Admin Role again. 
    • Don't forget to Edit the Role you created to remove the "Users and Roles" Permission before assigning it to other users! 
Was this article helpful?
4 out of 7 found this helpful