Archiving a Person or Restoring Archived People

Overview 

Archiving people allows you to remove a person from showing up on exports and communications but still keep their profile available if you ever need to reference it. Typically this would be used for:

  • archiving deceased individuals( see note below before archiving)
  • archiving people who no longer attend your church 

Archive a Person

To archive a person:

  1. Navigate to the person's profile.
  2. On the left, select "Archive" from the menu (after clicking "More" to expose the additional options).
  3. Click the "Archive Person" button on the bottom right of the popup window.

Archive Multiple People

To archive multiple people:

  1. Navigate to any list of people via the advanced search.
  2. On the right, click "Archive" from the menu (after clicking "More Actions" to expose the additional options).
  3. Click the "Archive People" button on the bottom right of the popup window. 
  4. You can also archive any number of people from your search by selecting the checkmark next to their name in the search list.

View Archived People

To view archived people:

  1. Select the "People" tab from the top left.
  2. In the upper-right corner, select the down arrow to the right of the "Add Person" button.
  3. Select "View Archived People" from the drop-down list.

Restoring an Archived Person

To restore an archived person:

  1. Select the "People" tab from the top left.
  2. In the upper-right corner, select the down arrow to the right of the "Add Person" button.
  3. Select "View Archived People" from the drop-down list.
  4. Click the undo icon to the right of the person you'd like to restore.
To easily find a person in the long list of individuals use Command or Control + F on your computer and type in the name you are looking for.
If you archived a person that's already archived, their name will appear twice in the archived list found under the "Add Person" dropdown. For instance: I look for Fred Flintstone in the archived list. I look at his profile for information. After finding what I need, I "archive" him again. The next time I view the archived list, his name appears twice, and it will need to be un-archived twice for Fred to show up in "People" again.

Additionally, the system will search archived people to alert you of potential duplicates when you are adding a new person to the system by Clicking +Add Person on the People tab, If the person you are trying to add has been archived, a red potential duplicate alert will come up. Click the circular arrow icon, to restore this person to the database.

Image_2020-04-17_at_8.20.55_AM.png

User Permission Settings to Archive and View Archived People 

To give users permissions to archive and/or view archived people: 

  1. Navigate to "Users&Roles" under the "More" tab in the top right.
  2. Select "Roles" from the left menu and edit (using the pencil icon) the desired role. 
  3. Expand permission options next to People > Actions > Archive. 
  4. Select "Archive People" to allow users to archive and unarchive people. 
  5. Select "View Archived People" to allow users to view archived people.
If someone passes, their gift should still be counted as a contribution to the church. It's also important that if there's a surviving spouse or family member, that the person can receive an end-of-year statement for that person for tax purposes. Generally what we would recommend before you archive someone who is deceased is that you would move their contributions to a surviving family member before you archive them.
To change someone's giving to have come from someone else:
  1. Navigate to the person who the gifts are currently recorded as having come from.
  2. Select "Giving" on the menu to the left of their profile.
  3. On the top right, click the drop down arrow to the right of the "Download as Excel" button.
  4. Select "Move Contributions", select the person you'd like them to now come from, and click "Move".

 

Was this article helpful?
386 out of 414 found this helpful