Bulk Update People

Was this article helpful?
18 out of 23 found this helpful
Sorry this article wasn't more helpful - we'd love to improve it! Can you let us know what it was missing?

Comments

8 comments

  • Avatar
    Lisa Bray

    when doing a bulk people update, are the tags compromised?

  • Avatar
    Emily W.

    Hey @lisa!

    No, they are not. :) 

  • Avatar
    Lisa Bray

    If I do not change any column/field names but put the  columns/fields in a different order in my template file, will they import correctly back into breeze?  

  • Avatar
    Sheley

    Hey Lisa - you can do that!  As long as, like you said, you don't change the names, you can delete columns you don't need, move them around, or hide them.  Be sure to leave the Breeze ID where it is, though - that one will need to be first to read who the update belongs to. 

  • Avatar
    aharrisngim

    I have an event list that contains a few hundred people stores from another platform I would like to perform a bulk import from that. However, the list may contain people who are already entered into Breeze. How does Breeze handle duplicates during a bulk import?

  • Avatar
    Emily W.

    Hi @aharrisngim!

    This option allows you to update existing people. If they are not in the system, I would recommend using the import people task. If you do end up having duplicates in the system, you can quickly merge the duplicate profiles by using the Merge tool that we have.

    Here you go: Combining Duplicate Profiles :)

     

  • Avatar
    a4nee

    It sounds like once the upload is done, human errors will overwrite the existing data.  Is there a preview option?  Could it be a feature request - in the least where Breeze will determine the differences and will ask the user to confirm the changes?  In the meantime should such an error happen, is there a way to roll back? 

  • Avatar
    Sheley

    Hey @a4nee, the closest we have to a confirm changes is that when you upload the document it will check to make sure that all the changes are breeze-compliant and then confirm that you do want to update.  We, unfortunately, would not be able to ask if each and every change is what you were looking for as people will update hundreds of profiles at once and not want to have to confirm each change made. 

    My recommendation would be to download the template file, and when you make the changes, save it as a copy and keep the original.  Then, if you did make a mistake or need to change information back, you have a copy of the old profiles handy that you could re-upload where needed! 

    Hope this has helped. 

Please sign in to leave a comment.