Import Notes

Importing notes allows you to bulk import a number of notes at the same time.

To import Notes

  1. Navigate to the Account Settings (mceclip3.png)
  2. Choose "Bulk Tasks"
  3. Select "More" (on the left) 
  4. Choose "Import Notes" (on the left)
  5. Download the template file and populate it with your data.
  6. Import it using the "Import Notes" button. Use the key below for determining how to populate the data.

2020-05-12_13-34-33.png

 

Understanding Fields on the File

Field Options Examples

Breeze ID

The Breeze ID for the person to whom the note should be assigned. This can be accessed by exporting the people.
Integer (optional) 2342362
2636345
2463456
Date mm/dd/yyyy 5/8/1985
1/2/1997
6/13/0000
11/9/1959
Note String Visited John at the hospital; he was doing well.
Susie likes puppies
Jack told me that Susie likes puppies

Username

Must be a valid username in your database.
String (optional) jsmith
kwilliams
srogers

Private

If 'Yes', only the person specified in the "Username" column can see the note. Cannot be 'Yes' if no username is specified.
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
No

 

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful

Comments

2 comments
  • So, it appears that the database has a capacity to allow notes to be shared privately among multiple users but the application only has the ability to mark it as private and not private. Am I missing something? For instance, our treasurer has significant permissions and can see notes, but I'd like to be able to make "Pastoral" notes that only the pastoral staff can see (in addition to private notes that only I can see).

    Additionally, if I import notes from another system, will it overwrite existing notes, or add to them? Does it have a filter during import to ascertain if a note is a copy of an existing note and skip the import?

    0
  • Hey @kevindrector

    "The application only has the ability to mark it as private and not private."- That is correct. However, with users and roles, you can assign certain Users to view the note permission, while others would not even have the ability to view notes, whether they were private or not private.

    "Additionally, if I import notes from another system, will it overwrite existing notes, or add to them? Does it have a filter during import to ascertain if a note is a copy of an existing note and skip the import?"

    It will simply add to the notes that are currently there. It does not alert you if there is a copy.

    Hope this is helpful! Please contact our Support team if you have any additional questions! We are happy to serve!

     

    0